The 8th Vacuum and Surface Sciences Conference of Asia and Australia (VASSCAA-8) will be held from August 21 (Sunday) to 26 (Friday), 2016 at BEXCO, Busan, South Korea, in conjunction with 20th International Vacuum Congress (IVC-20). The scientific programs VASSCAA-8 and IVC-20 are merged together, and the same applies to the abstract submission channel.

Vacuum and Surface Sciences Conference of Asia and Australia (VASSCAA) is an IUVSTA (International Union for Vacuum Science, Technique and Applications) specific conference whose members and aim are given in the Statutes of IUVSTA. VASSCAA is steered by the international steering committee (ISC) of VASSCAA.
The VASSCAA was originally initiated to offer a fascinating forum for young researchers in Asia and Australia. For this purpose, it is effective to accept young excellent researchers as invited speakers.

The VASSCAA series is organized to create a new forum in Asia and Australia to discuss vacuum, surface and related sciences, techniques and applications. The conference is officially endorsed by the International Union for Vacuum Science, Technique and Applications (IUVSTA), and has subsequently been organized once every three years, and later every two years, starting from 1999, and has ever since expanded its activity to encompass numerous eminent speakers worldwide. More than 300 papers are expected to be presented in oral and poster sessions covering frontline research of Vacuum and Applied Surface Sciences. Collected papers through review presented in the conference will be published in the special issue of Applied Surface Science and VACUUM.

Your participation in VASSCAA-8 will provide you a rare chance to get the benefits of the latest knowledge through personal interactions and fruitful discussions with the foreign experts.

Welcome to Busan!

Prof. H. Kang

General Chair, VASSCAA-8

Invited Speakers of VASSCAA-8


Dheerawan Boonyawan

Chiang Mai University, Thailand

Ray-Hua Horng

National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan

Kwang-Ryeol Lee

Korea Institute of Science and Technology, Korea

Detian Li

Lanzhou Institute of Physics, China

Hao-Wu Lin

National Tsing-Hua University, Taiwan

Junji Nakamura

Tsukuba University, Japan

Sunmin Ryu

Pohang University of Science and Technology, Korea

Tsuneo Yasue

Osaka Electro-Communication University, Japan

Zhenyu Zhang

University of Science and Technology of China, China